Services

Together with our clients, we develop customised battery storage solutions for unusual applications

We collaborate closely with our customers to define battery system requirements, estimate what is technically feasible, and develop an initial concept, pushing the technical boundaries as much as possible. We endeavour to deliver the maximum for our customers, no matter how stringent or unusual their requirements: Extremely lightweight, high performance, or compact design solutions, or specific applications, such as air or maritime.

safety

Safety concept

A detailed safety concept requires intensive study of the planned deployment scenario, as well as the intended application environment for the storage system. In dialogue with our customers, we develop a suitable security concept to meet any application-specific functional requirement. This includes safety and transportation certificates (UN 38.3).

BMS

Electronics development

At Air Energy, electronics development is inextricably linked to system development. Air Energy's battery management system for Li-Ion batteries has been in constant development since 2003, and is immediately available in several variants for new projects. Battery management systems, chargers and dischargers are developed by a single provider and, therefore, work flawlessly together. Safety-related functions (e.g., gauges, stop-charge, stop-discharge, etc.) provide built-in redundancy.

thermisch

Thermal management

We design thermal solutions without active cooling to ensure our battery systems are space and weight-optimised. On the other hand, we develop active air or liquid cooling for high-performance applications.

Batterie

Construction

Our highly experienced team develops creative solutions to overcome any space-related constraints for our battery systems. Not surprisingly, delivering lightweight and structurally demanding housing is one of our core competencies. This tall order is met by constantly introducing new materials and manufacturing processes.

Ladekonzept

Charging concept 

Our battery is supplied with a charger specially designed for it. The interaction of our battery with the charger electronics ensures maximum service life and optimum protection against overcharging.

Entladekonzept

Discharging concept

Upon request, we supply batteries with a discharger. Dischargers are designed to lower battery state of charge as to increase transport safety and minimise battery aging upon prolonged storage.

Netzwerk

Research network

In Aachen´s research landscape, our research and development projects rely on the following partners:

Institut für Stromrichtertechnik und Elektrische Antriebe, RWTH Aachen
www.isea.rwth-aachen.de

Professur für Mess- und Sensortechnik (MST), TU Chemnitz
www.tu-chemnitz.de/etit/messtech/

Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen
www.wzl.rwth-aachen.de

Institut für Kraftfahrwesen, RWTH Aachen
www.ika.rwth-aachen.de

Fraunhofer Institut für Lasertechnik (ILT)
www.ilt.fraunhofer.de

Leistungen

Wir erarbeiten zusammen mit unseren Auftraggebern maßgeschneiderte Batteriespeicher für außergewöhnliche Anwendungen

Im Gespräch mit unseren Kunden stellen wir die Anforderungen an das Batteriesystem zusammen, schätzen ab was technisch möglich ist und erarbeiten ein erstes Konzept, dabei gehen wir an die Grenzen des technisch machbaren. Ob extremer Leichtbau, große Leistungen, eine kompakte Bauweise oder spezifische Einsatzgebiete wie Luft- oder Seefahrt, wir holen für unsere Kunden das Maximum raus.

 

safety

Sicherheitskonzept

Ein detailliert ausgearbeitetes Sicherheitskonzept erfordert die intensive Auseinandersetzung  mit dem geplanten Einsatzszenario und der Umgebung der Zielanwendung des Speichers. Im Dialog mit unseren Kunden erarbeiten wir aus den anwendungsspezifischen Funktionsanforderungen ein passendes Sicherheitskonzept. Dazu gehören Sicherheits- und Transportzertifikate (UN 38.3). 

BMS

Elektronikentwicklung

Die Elektronikentwicklung ist bei AirEnergy integraler Bestandteil einer Systementwicklung. Das AirEnergy Batteriemanagementsystem für Li-Ionen Batterien wird seit 2003 stetig weiterentwickelt und steht in mehreren Derivaten direkt für neue Projekte zur Verfügung. Batteriemanagementsystem, Lade- und  Entladegeräte werden aus einer Hand entwickelt und sind somit ideal aufeinander abgestimmt. Sicherheitsrelevante Funktionen (z.B. Messen, Ladung beenden, Entladung beenden, etc.) sind dabei redundant ausgelegt.

thermisch

Thermisches Management

Für auf Bauraum und Gewicht optimierte Batteriesysteme suchen wir nach thermischen Lösungen die ganz ohne aktive Kühlung realisierbar sind. Für Anwendungen in denen hohe Leistungen gefordert werden entwickeln wir aktive Luft- oder Flüssigkeitskühlungen.

Batterie

Konstruktion

Unsere erfahrenen Konstrukteure erarbeiten findige Lösungen die unsere Speicher in jeden Bauraum einpassen. Leichtbau und strukturell anspruchsvolle Gehäuse gehören zu unseren Kernkompetenzen. Um diesen hohen Ansprüchen gerecht zu werden suchen wir ständig nach neuen Materialien und Fertigungsverfahren.

Ladekonzept

Ladekonzept 

Unsere Speicher werden mit einem speziell für Ihre Batterie aufgebautem Ladegerät ausgeliefert. Das Zusammenspiel unserer Batterieelektronik mit dem Ladegerät garantiert maximale Lebensdauer und bestmöglichen Schutz vor Überladung. 

Entladekonzept

Entladekonzept 

Auf Wunsch liefern wir zu unseren Batterien Entladegeräte. Mit dem Entladegerät kann der Ladezustand der Batterie abgesenkt werden um die Transportsicherheit zu erhöhen oder bei längerer Lagerung die Alterung der eingelagerten Batterie zu minimieren.

Netzwerk

Forschungsnetzwerk

Im Umfeld der Aachener Forschungslandschaft als auch deutschlandweit kooperieren wir in unseren Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten mit folgenden Partnern:

Institut für Stromrichtertechnik und Elektrische Antriebe, RWTH Aachen
www.isea.rwth-aachen.de

Professur für Mess- und Sensortechnik (MST), TU Chemnitz
www.tu-chemnitz.de/etit/messtech/

Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen
www.wzl.rwth-aachen.de

Institut für Kraftfahrwesen, RWTH Aachen
www.ika.rwth-aachen.de

Fraunhofer Institut für Lasertechnik (ILT)
www.ilt.fraunhofer.de