Solar Impulse I & II

The Solar Impulse team aims to circle the earth with a solar and battery-powered aircraft lacking other energy sources (e.g., fuel). To such end, the aircraft must fly non-stop for several days. In particular, driving energy must be provided by highly efficient batteries during the night.

Air Energy is proud to be the specialised partner and battery supplier to this pioneering project.

HB-SIA

On 26 June 2009, project initiators Bertrand Picard and André Boschberg presented the first test vehicle, the Solar Impulse I (HB-SIA). This solar-powered aircraft features a wingspan of 63.4 m and is powered by 11,628 solar cells, storing any excess energy in four of Air Energy-supplied battery packs.

Only a revolutionary technology and the most efficient and lightweight materials could make this project a reality. Undeterred by this challenge, we developed a Li-ion energy storage solution from scratch. In this case, Kokam cells delivered an energy density of 243 Wh/kg.

On 7 July 2010, Solar Impulse I flew overnight on battery power alone for the first time. With a state of charge of 40% at sunrise, the aircraft had sufficient battery reserve to ascend during the day, recharge its batteries and, theoretically, fly through another night.

Solar Impulse I records

max. flight altitude:
9235m
max. height gain:
8744m
endurance:
26:10:19
flight range:
1116 km

Solarimpulse1

 
 
 

HB-SIB

At the end of 2013, following the successful test of Solar Impulse I, Air Energy delivered new batteries for its much larger successor, Solar Impulse II (HB-SIB). The four correspondingly larger batteries from Aachen were refitted with improved cell technology, accounting thus for approximately 25% of the take-off weight. Energy density was increased to 260 Wh / kg.

This aircraft should circle the world in 10 stages spread over 120 days. The first test flights were successfully completed in the spring of 2014, and the round-the-world trip is planned from April to July 2015.

Specifications of Solar Impulse II

energy density of  batteries: 
260 Wh/kg
weight of the aircraft:
2,3 t
wingspan:
72 m
amount of solar cells:
> 17000
volume of Cockpit:
3,8 m^3

Solar Impulse I & II

Das Team von Solar Impulse verfolgt das Ziel mit einem solar- und batteriebetriebenen Flugzeug ohne jegliche Zufuhr von Treibstoff die Erde zu umrunden. Hierzu muss das Flugzeug die Fähigkeit besitzen mehrere Tage nonstop fliegen zu können. Hocheffiziente Batterien müssen dazu die Antriebsenergie während der Nacht liefern.

Air Energy ist Spezialisierter Partner für die Batterie dieses Rekordprojektes.

HB-SIA

Am 26. Juni 2009 stellten die Initiatoren des Projektes Bertrand Picard und André Boschberg den ersten Erprobungsträger, die Solar Impulse I (HB-SIA) vor. Dieses Solarflugzeug mit einer Spannweite von 63,4 m gewinnt seine Energie aus 11.628 Solarzellen und speichert überschüssige Energie in vier von Air Energy gelieferten Batterieblöcken.

Ohne revolutionäre Technik und möglichst effizienten und leichten Werkstoffen kann ein derartiges Projekt nicht umgesetzt werden. Aus diesem Grund wurde für das Solar Flugzeug ein völlig neuer Li-Ionen-Energiespeicher entwickelt. Dabei wurde mit Zellentechnik von Kokam eine Energiedichte von 243 Wh/kg erreicht. 

Am 7. Juli 2010 fliegt die Solar Impulse I erstmals über Nacht und bezieht dabei die Antriebsleistung ausschließlich aus den Batterien. Mit einem Ladezustand von 40% bei Sonnenaufgang blieb bei diesem Flug ausreichend Reserve um tagsüber wieder Höhe zu gewinnen, die Batterien wieder zu laden und theoretisch eine weitere Nacht zu fliegen.

Rekorde der Solar Impulse I

max. Flughöhe:
9235m
max. Höhengewinn:
8744m
Flugdauer:
26:10:19
Flugstrecke:
1116 km

Solarimpulse1

 
 
 

HB-SIB

Nach der erfolgreichen Erprobung von Solar Impulse 1 lieferte Air Energy Ende 2013 neue Batterien für den deutlich größeren Nachfolger Solar Impulse 2 (HB-SIB). Die vier entsprechend größeren Batterien aus Aachen sind wieder mit nochmals verbesserter Zellentechnik ausgerüstet und machen etwa ein Viertel des Abfluggewichtes aus. Die Energiedichte konnte auf  260 Wh/kg gesteigert werden.

Am 26.07.2016 vollendete das Team von Solar Impulse die Weltumrundung mit einer Landung in Abu Dabi wo das Flugzeug Frühjahr 2015 gestartet war.

Technische Daten Solar Impulse II

Energiedichte der Batterien: 
260 Wh/kg
Gewicht des Flugzeugs:
2,3 t
Spannweite der Flügel:
72 m
Anzahl der Solarzellen:
> 17000
Größe des Cockpits:
3.8 m^3